States Speak Out and Sue Obama

States Speak Out and Sue Obama

17 states filed a case to sue Obama for his executive order on immigration reform.

The immigration reform is meant to stop the deportation of as many as 5 million illegal immigrants. The states so far involved are mostly southern and Midwestern states- Texas, Alabama, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, North Dakota, and South Dakota. 

Fox News states that Texas is leading the way. Texas Attorney General, Greg Abbott, says that Obama’s executive actions “directly violate the fundamental promise to the American people” by not following the Constitution. Abbott cited Article 2, Section 3 of the Constitution, which says that the president “shall take care that the laws be faithfully executed.” Abbott emphasized that Obama needs to go to Congress first and not make laws up as he pleases.

According to Greenville Online, State Attorney of South Carolina, Allen Wilson, states that, “While we are a nation of immigrants, we are also a nation founded on the rule of law.” Wilson feels that Obama’s order will directly impact the state.

Leave a Reply


Show Buttons
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
Share On Reddit
Contact us
Hide Buttons